At the beginning of 2022, the law regarding DUI diversion changed. DUIs are no longer eligible for diversion in California. Please contact our office with any questions. Email us at OR Call us at: (415) 886-6333

We Are Open 24/7 And Offer Free In Person And Virtual Consultations.

Call Us 24/7 For a FREE Case Evaluation: (415) 886-6333 Text Us Now: (415) 799-3419

Law Offices of Aaron Bortel

Driving Purgatory - How Long Will I Need This Ignition Interlock Device? Lawyer, San Rafael CityIn this article you will learn about:

  • The duration requirements for having an ignition interlock device installed on your car,
  • How long different penalties last after a DUI conviction, and
  • The availability and duration of Remote DUI school following a DUI charge,

How Long Do I Have To Have An Ignition Interlock Device Installed In My Vehicle After a DUI In Marin County?

If you are convicted of a regular Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge in Marin County, you will probably be facing six months of having an ignition interlock device in your car. Though it is not your only choice. You can avoid it entirely if you wish.

If you do not wish to drive with an interlock device or do not have the means to afford one, you can either do six months of no driving or you can go one month of no driving followed by 12 months of a work-restricted license.

Some options might lower the amount of time an IID is required. For example, if you negotiate down your DUI to a “wet and reckless” charge (a lesser sentence you can plead to get out of a DUI) you might not have to do any at all, depending on the outcome of a DMV hearing. In that case, you would only be facing four months on the suspension or with the IID or one month of no driving and five months of work-restricted driving if you do the work-restricted license.

What Do I Need To Do To Get An Ignition Interlock Device License After A Marin County DUI?

To get the ignition interlock device and license, you are going to have to jump through some hoops.

Firstly, you will need additional SR-22 insurance. You should consult with an experienced DUI attorney to find a company with good customer service that will deliver it quickly. You have to maintain that insurance for three years from when you get your restricted license or interlock license. Secondly, you have to show DMV proof of installation of the ignition interlock. Thirdly, you have to show them that you’re enrolled in a California DUI school. And finally, you have to pay a reissue fee.

There are many steps and obligations which must be done correctly, so it is important to communicate with your DUI lawyer with Marin County experience who can walk you through every step of the process.

What Happens If I Fail To Correctly Apply For An Ignition Interlock Device After A DUI Arrest?

There is a lot of bad advice out there, especially from people who are not lawyers. Even employees at the DMV are not always qualified or can unintentionally give incorrect instructions or advice. They are not sufficiently trained or do not understand the details or nuance of your case.

If that happens, and you do something wrong during your application for an Ignition Interlock Device or license, the consequences can be quite serious. You could be suspended longer than necessary or you could end up driving on a suspended license without knowing it.

This could result in having your car towed and impounded for 30 days as well as having new charges brought against you, not to mention massive fines or even jail time. None of which might have been your fault. You just listened to the wrong people. That is why it is essential not just to consult an attorney, but to consult an attorney specializing in DUI cases like yours.

Choosing Your Marin County DUI Attorney.

When facing such an important and impactful case as dealing with a DUI charge, you want a lawyer that is going to get back to you quickly, as some of the timelines and deadlines are quite tight. You also need someone who understands DUI defense, specifically in Marin County, and has at least several years of experience.

It is important to have an attorney with local experience because they understand the local court system, the DA’s office, the judges, and the DMV. Not just the rules of any California DMV or court system, but an attorney who knows the clerks, the hearing officers, and the supervisors, will have the connections to get questions answered quickly to help resolve your case as quickly and efficiently as possible.

They will also be better equipped to help you figure out other aspects of your driver’s license suspension, such as DUI School programs.

What Are DUI Schools And Remote DUI Schools?

Another requirement many drivers convicted of DUIs will face is that of attending and completing a DUI program, often called DUI school. These are mandatory educational programs about the dangers of drinking and driving, and other key social or psychological lessons to help avoid repeat offenses.

These programs used to be a particularly onerous burden on California drivers, but during the pandemic, many were pushed to go online, which offered several advantages to those who had to complete them.

A good DUI lawyer will know which DUI school programs are the best, which ones can be completed remotely, and which ones will be able to bring you on board quickly so you can complete it and get back onto the road as soon as possible, with or without an interlock device.

With the guidance of a skilled attorney for DUI Law Cases, you can have the peace of mind that comes with knowing that we’ll make it look easy. For more information on DUI Defense Law in San Francisco, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (415) 886-6333 today.

Aaron Bortel

For A Free Case Evaluation
Call Us 24/7: (415) 886-6333
Text Us Now: (415) 799-3419

Translate »
Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U