At the beginning of 2022, the law regarding DUI diversion changed. DUIs are no longer eligible for diversion in California. Please contact our office with any questions. Email us at OR Call us at: (415) 886-6333

We Are Open 24/7 And Offer Free In Person And Virtual Consultations.

Call Us 24/7 For a FREE Case Evaluation: (415) 886-6333 Text Us Now: (415) 799-3419

Law Offices of Aaron Bortel
California driver's license with golden bear and red star logo - Law Offices of Aaron BortelIn this article, you can discover:

  • What happens if you don’t request a DMV hearing within 10 days of being arrested for a DUI in Marin County.
  • The differences between work-restricted and IID licenses for DUI offenders.
  • The importance of legal guidance so you can avoid pitfalls and protect your driving rights.

Can I Obtain A Restricted License Or Work Permit After A DUI In Marin County?

Navigating the aftermath of a DUI arrest in Marin County can be complex, but understanding your license options is crucial. Following a DUI arrest, you will usually be given a temporary, pink license. This means you have 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV. If you miss this deadline, your license will automatically be suspended after 30 days.

Fortunately, even if your license does get suspended, you still have options. For first-time DUI offenders, you may be able to obtain a work-restricted license, which can enable you to keep your job.

With a work-restricted license, you are prohibited from driving for a one-month period. After this month without driving, you are allowed to drive solely for work-related purposes. The duration of this restriction could vary from six months to a year, based on your alcohol level at the time of arrest.

Alternatively, you might want to consider the Ignition Interlock Device (IID) license. This license is more flexible, allowing you to drive anywhere, anytime.

However, you must install an IID in your car and fulfill similar requirements as the work-restricted license, such as DUI school enrollment and SR 22 insurance. The benefit of the IID license is that there is no waiting period like with the work-restricted license, offering immediate relief post-suspension.

Do I Need To Install A Breathalyzer In My Car For A Restricted License Or Work Permit After A DUI In Marin County?

The idea of installing a breathalyzer in your car post-DUI can be daunting. If it’s your first offense, you can breathe easy; you’re not mandated to install one if you choose a work-restricted license.

This option entails a month without driving, followed by a visit to the DMV with proof of DUI school enrollment and SR 22 insurance. It’s a 12-month commitment for a standard DUI, or 6 months for a wet reckless if the DMV hearing isn’t in your favor.

However, it is crucial to recognize some of the legal nuances. A wet reckless conviction, for instance, doesn’t automatically mean you need a restricted license – as long as you ace the DMV hearing.

Another situation you should be aware of is that post-arrest, you might be bombarded with calls from companies promising quick fixes to get you back on the road. They will tempt you with shortcuts to obtain an IID license or work permit. But beware, as these shortcuts often involve skipping vital legal processes, leading to lost rights. Always seek legal advice first – your future driving privileges might depend on it.

For more information on obtaining a Work Permit After A DUI In Marin County, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (415) 886-6333 today.

Aaron Bortel

For A Free Case Evaluation
Call Us 24/7: (415) 886-6333
Text Us Now: (415) 799-3419

Translate »
Accessibility Accessibility
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U